Key West Lighthouse Museum

The Lighthouse opened in 1848 with a woman as its Keeper, which was nearly unheard during the 19th Century.  After numerous upgrades to the structure, in 1969 the US Coast Guard decommissioned it since there was no longer a need for a full time Keeper due to technological advancements. Today, visitors can walk up the 88 steps to the top of the light and also explore the belongings of the lighthouse Keepers and their families.

Close Menu
Southernmost Beach Resort Key West Logo